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LACROSSE

Understanding the Girls’ Penalty Zone

IN 2819. HIGH SCHOOL AND YOUTH GIRLS" LACROSSE IMPLEMENTED SEVERAL
SIGNIFICANT RULE CHANGES. ONE CHANGE FOCUSED DIRECTLY ON
INCREASING PLAYER SAFETY WAS THE CREATION OF A PENALTY ZONE.

The penalty zone is intended to simplify penalty administration and address safety concerns
around 8-meter free positions. This area will be cleared for all 8m free positions awarded
above the goal line extended.

The penalty zone is the area from inside the 8-meter arc and extending back to the dots
from the 8-meter arc.

If a major foul by a defensive player occurs within 8-meters of the goal circle above the
goal line extended, the entire penalty zone must be cleared. All players in the penalty zone
must take the shortest route out.

If a major foul by a defensive player occurs below the goal line extended, the player with
the ball will go to the nearest dot. The penalty zone is not cleared when a foul is
administered at a dot.

The procedures for clearing the penalty zone will remain the same as was previously used
to clear the 8m arc with the following exception: if a pair of opposing players is to be
moved to a hash adjacent to the ball carrier, the defensive player will be entitled to the
inside position closest to the ball carrier.
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Frequently Asked Questions about the Penalty Zone

Q1: When clearing the penalty zone, are defensive players always entitled to the
hash adjacent to the ball carrier?

No, not always; only the defensive player who has been cleared to the hash adjacent to
the ball carrier is entitled to the adjacent hash. If no defensive player would be moved to
the adjacent hash, the adjacent hash will remain empty. If an attack player would be
moved to the hash adjacent to the ball carrier and there is no defensive player that
would be moved with her, the attack player is entitled to the adjacent hash.

Q2: Are there any situations where a lane is cleared instead of the penalty zone?
Yes. For any major foul that occurs between the 8m arc and the 12m fan you will still
clear a lane which is as wide as the goal circle and all players are well outside of the
lane.

Q3: If the goalkeeper is outside of her goal circle when a foul is committed can
she clear back into her goal circle?

Yes. As long as she did not commit the foul and was within the penalty zone, she can
clear back into her goal circle when the penalty zone is cleared.

Q4: If a free position is being set on an outside hash mark (the hanging hash),
does the pie area on the opposite side of the 8m arc need to be cleared?

Yes. Any time a free position is taken on a hash mark, the entire penalty zone must be
cleared.
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